New Business, Struggling With Pricing

Business By SugarKissesCakery Updated 2 Nov 2011 , 3:31pm by Bridgette1129

SugarKissesCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarKissesCakery Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 2:59am
post #1 of 23

I'm just starting out with my cake business and I'm still struggling with pricing. Most bakers in my area are charging 2.50 to 3.00 for buttercream iced party cakes. I just did this cake and charged $72 for it based upon $2 a serving and 36 servings. The cake was a 9" and a 6". I realize the prices can vary based upon skill. I know the cake isn't terrible, I'm just not sure if I really can command $3.00 a serving being such a newbie. Can you be honest with me?

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1816493&done=1

Thanks!

22 replies
sweetlybaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlybaked Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 3:12am
post #2 of 23

Your cake is great! Buttercream is smooth, fondant decorations are nice and crisp, and there are quite a few of them! You can definately charge the 3! My only ONE criticism is that the top tier is not straight vertically. I have no place telling flaws in anyone else's cakes, but since you asked, that is the one thing that I noticed. Great job though!

Msjckson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Msjckson Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 3:24am
post #3 of 23

Wow! This cake is awesome, you should have charged $3.00 per slice for sure. I couldn't even tell where it wasn't straight.. very good job. And an additonal price just for doing the tiers. My local bakery was going to charge a lady $120 for a 2 tier cake. They said that the tiers are the same as getting a wedding cake.

CakeDiva101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva101 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 3:33am
post #4 of 23

Your cakes are very, very good. I would go ahead and charge $3.00 a serving. You are that good. New or not, you got talent! Good luck in your new business! icon_biggrin.gif