Torting And Filling - Super Frustrated

Decorating By trishvanhoozer Updated 5 Oct 2010 , 2:17am by dholdenrn

trishvanhoozer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trishvanhoozer Posted 26 Sep 2010 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 39

I have been baking for many years. I think I am pretty good, I love the creativity in it. However, I am self taught and have never taken any class. I use cake mixes (not doctored) and have never torted or filled the layers. Just used the full 2 inch layer with icing in between and the next layer. So today I tried a few filling recipes on CC and they were delicious! BUT even after torting, building a dam with my icing and putting the filling in the cake, it was a disaster. The cake is lopsided and super soft. I doweled a two tier cake with 6 straws and it stll just fell apart. What in the world!!!! I apparently have no clue how to tort and flil a cake correctly.

38 replies
cakeythings1961 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeythings1961 Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 12:49am
post #2 of 39

Mix cakes are too soft for what you're trying to do. Take a look at these videos:

See how dense the cakes appear as they torte them? And they aren't even attempting to stack! Try the WASC or another doctored mix recipe that has a dense crumb and firm texture.

I would also add that I only use a thin layer of filling...........I'm still trying to master the process, myself!

trishvanhoozer Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 1:07am
post #3 of 39

I saw SweetWise's video, and that made me think I could do it!! LOL thank you for them both, I have not seen the second video and it was very good. I was hoping I wouldn't have to use doctored mixes, they intimidate me tremendously but the even layers in the torting are such a big selling point, I want to be able to master it. Do you have any favorite basic flavor doctored mix recieps? There are sooo many to choose from!

Normita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Normita Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 1:20am
post #4 of 39