Not Sure What To Do!!!

Decorating By mary614 Updated 4 Oct 2010 , 6:12am by bchumley

mary614 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mary614 Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 10:27pm
post #1 of 7

I am making a tiered cake for mo grandmothers 90th bday. The bottom tier is a 14" round and I am covering it in fondant (making a quilt) I wasn't sure how much buttercream do I use to under the fondant? Do I just crumb coat then place the fondant? I too a cake class and that was what they said but I just want to be sure. I also want it to taste good and I know some fondants just don't taste great.

Also, I wanted to make designs on the next tier and wanted to know what was the best thing to use. If I put the cake in the fridge will the designs "melt" away if the fondant has condensation? If I decorate the cake on Friday, can it sit out till Sat?

Sorry, I am very new to fondant but I am so eager to learn what I can. Thanks.

6 replies
KJ62798 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KJ62798 Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 10:47pm
post #2 of 7

The buttercream under fondant should be heavier than a crumb-coat but not as heavy as you would do when frosting a cake to be served w/BC frosting. You want it to be as smooth as possible since any flaws will show in the fondant.

You can pipe w/BC or royal icing onto fondant. Neither will melt in the fridge. If you are decorating the cake on Friday to serve on Sat it can go in the fridge or it can sit out. If you have a perishable filling, like fresh fruit it will need to go in the fridge.

If you fridge it, bring it out a while before serving and let it come back to room temp. Don't touch the fondant if there is condensation or it will leave marks.

HTH
Kristy

Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 10:56pm
post #3 of 7