Working Out A Best Before Date?

Baking By CookieCrazy_grozzie11 Updated 3 Oct 2010 , 7:02pm by bonniebakes

CookieCrazy_grozzie11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieCrazy_grozzie11 Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 1:41pm
post #1 of 22

Hi all, lucky I am on bedrest as I have been scouring thru CC for about 11hrs today. Fabulous stuff by the way.

My question is, deciding on a best before date, as I have someone who wants to retail my sugar cookies, decorated in RI and sealed in cello bags?

I had alway gone off the cuff and said 30days? do you agree?

also, after about 2 weeks the butter flavour gets stronger do you think thats bad? love to hear your thoughts. thank you.

21 replies
jamiekwebb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamiekwebb Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 1:57pm
post #2 of 22

I don't think that I would eat a RI decorated SC after a week and a half, that is just me personally. 30 days seems a bit much. Two weeks maybe..... probably more like 10 days. I am by no means an expert, this is just my personal opinion.

awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 2:14pm
post #3 of 22

I agree with jamiekwebb with the week and a half with RI. If you used a glace with water instead of milk I would say maybe about 20 days or so.

bonniebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonniebakes Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 8:46pm
post #4 of 22

I am particularly cautious about food safety, and I go by a "5-day rule" - no more than 5 days from making the dough to the time they are delivered. I urge people to consume them as soon as possible.

I have had people tell me they've eaten them up to 2 weeks later and they still tasted great, but I wouldn't advise it unless they were being stored in the freezer...

cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 9:00pm
post #5 of 22