Fondant/gumpaste Bow - I'm New At This!

Decorating By PaulasPastries Updated 4 Oct 2010 , 12:16am by PaulasPastries

PaulasPastries Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulasPastries Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 11:46pm
post #1 of 27

hi i'm attempting to make my first fondant bow but i'm confused on how it stands up on the cake. I do not want to lay it flat but have it stand up tall. I will be using either a mixture of fondant and gumpaste or all gumpaste - which do you think i should use?? And how do I make it stand up tall without falling over? Will it be too heavy to do that if i use either fondant or gumpaste?

26 replies
trishvanhoozer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trishvanhoozer Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 11:51pm
post #2 of 27

Are you doing a big loopy bow or a two loop bow? I have photos on my photos of both styles. Let me know and I can tell you how to do what you are looking for. DianeLM made a GREAT loopy bow tutorial.....

psmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psmith Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 12:09am
post #3 of 27

Buddy 'Cake Boss' has a great tutorial. This is the one I used when I was making my first bow. It has nice pictures and takes you through the process and step by step.
http://www.cakeboss.com/FondantBowTutorial.aspx

nancyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancyg Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 12:13am
post #4 of 27

Imake mine and lay the loops on their sides to dry and it works very well

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 1:20am
post #5 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by psmith

Buddy '' has a great tutorial. This is the one I used when I was making my first bow. It has nice pictures and takes you through the process and step by step.
http://www..com/FondantBowTutorial.aspx

Just FYI, that is my tutorial and has no connection to Buddy or his tv show.

I am glad you found it useful. thumbs_up.gif

psmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psmith Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 1:51am
post #6 of 27
Quote: