Baby Converse Shoe Template?????

Decorating By CakeQueen5 Updated 20 Sep 2010 , 9:19pm by SpringFlour

CakeQueen5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeQueen5 Posted 19 Sep 2010 , 8:41am
post #1 of 6

Newbie here, Ok I have spent hours trying to find posts on how to work with templates...can't find any? really? I must not be looking in the right place. I want to make a pair of converse shoes for a baby shower cake, I printed out the template from stellastarchild on plain paper, but how do I actually "do It"? Do i roll out the fondant/gumpaste and freehand it, but that cant be right? Do I trace it? If so, what do I put it on? something clear? Do I go to kinkos or something? help I feel so stupid but I just dont understand?

5 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 19 Sep 2010 , 1:13pm
post #2 of 6

Here is a link to Stellastarchild's instructions for her converse pattern.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1186693

When I made them, I used fondant with tylose. I printed the pattern out on card stock (but paper would be fine) and cut out the pieces. I rolled out the fondant about 1/8" thick. I laid the pattern on the fondant and used an Exacto knife to cut out the pieces. I put the toe/front piece on first and put a small wad of cotton inside to hold the rounded shape. I just used water as glue. I added the other pieces from there.

JaimeAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaimeAnn Posted 19 Sep 2010 , 8:32pm
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by poohsmomma

Here is a link to Stellastarchild's instructions for her converse pattern.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1186693