Newbie Here...introduction And Wedding Cake Questions..

Decorating By Honeymarley Updated 21 Sep 2010 , 2:10am by Jen80

Honeymarley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Honeymarley Posted 19 Sep 2010 , 5:15am
post #1 of 8

Hello there,

I stumbled across this site and thought what better way to learn about cake decorating and making,then to join a forum. Me and my mother are currently practicing to make my sisters wedding cake for November 2011.

We have now made our first cake and it looks alright. It was a chocolate mud cake with two tiers,I am pleased but not 100% happy at the out come as i want my sisters cake to be perfect for the wedding. It was the first time we prepared and covered a cake with Fondant.

I guess i am looking to find out what are the top essentials i need to know about making and preparing a wedding cake? Also we are looking to find a good recipe for a coconut and mango cake? and if so how long does it last as i think i need to make the cake a couple of days before. Keeping in mind that we live in Australia and November is summer here so wondering if that will affect the choices of what type of cake we should make?

Any help will be appreciated..thanking you and we look forward to reading and finding tips and suggestions from you guys on Cake Central.

Cheers
HM icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 11:19am
post #2 of 8

Hi and Welcome to CC Honeymarley. icon_smile.gif

Everything you need to know to make, decorate and assemble tiered/stacked/layer cakes:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188-.html

However, the recipes will need converting to AU measurements.... Might just be easier to wait for some AU CC members to jump in with help.

Sorry I couldn't be of more assistance. icon_cry.gif

lollyponpon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lollyponpon Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 11:39am
post #3 of 8

hey honeymarley WELCOME!!