Is It Worth It?

Decorating By khadijah Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 5:06pm by khadijah

khadijah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
khadijah Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 1:45pm
post #1 of 16

Firstly, I want to thank everybody on this website. I'm still nowhere close to how good everyone decorates but you guys have helped me tremendously!
I'm a high school student living in Saudi Arabia and have recently discovered my love for cake decorating. I found out that they offer Wilton courses here. They cost 700 SR (~$200) per course! My brother is willing to pay but I just want to be sure if it's really worth it. I've already taught myself to do the basketweave, various borders, roses, and fondant.
Should I go for it?

15 replies
pag41989 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pag41989 Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 16

I have discovered that almost everything you can learn through the wilton classes you can look up on youtube and learn yourself. It seems like you already have most of the basics down. I think the only class that I am debating on taking is the gumpaste course so I can learn how to do my flowers a little better.

khadijah Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 16

Ohh and I forgot to mention. The shop offering the courses has a rule that you can't take course 4 without taking course 1,2, & 3 . So that would cost me around $800!

jlynnw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlynnw Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:27pm
post #4 of 16

classes are great for many reasons. I would seriously love to take more. I have however found that the web is a greater source of learning for a far less cost. Edna has awesome tutorials on flowers. The have some on this site as well. I would recommend that you invest your time on the web, library books, etc. 3 classes that you have to pay for that you don't need is a bit much. Perhaps you can talk with the instructor and get the rule bent for you as you have prior knowledge?

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile