Buttercream Icing Melting During Transport!!!!

Baking By derahpehs0acire Updated 16 Sep 2010 , 1:58am by Loucinda

derahpehs0acire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
derahpehs0acire Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 12:49am
post #1 of 19

I have been using this buttercream icing recipe for a while now, and its held up well so far.So.....im in the car, right. with the air on FULL BLAST and the icing was getting a little droopy. by the time i got the cake from the parking lot on to the table in the resturaunt the wall of icing on the cake was basicly sliding off like fondant!!!. icon_confused.gif. now im new with cake decorating and stuff, but how can buttercream icing melt in a car thats tapedshut.gif near 60 degrees(exagerated maybe 65-72) icon_wink.gif. it was about 83 deg outside but i wasnt outside for longer than 1-2 mins. the cake was my for my grandma so she loved it anyway.(only the decoration on the top was left icon_cry.gif )(more exageration. there was still icing on the sides.srry im very dramatic icon_rolleyes.gif ). someone plz explain why the cake gods shamed me that day lol.

18 replies
kerry126 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kerry126 Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 1:16am
post #2 of 19

What is your buttercream recipe?

derahpehs0acire Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:05am
post #3 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerry126

What is your buttercream recipe?

The recipe:
22 tbs salted butter, softened (about 3 sticks)
2/3 c. Crisco shortening
5-7 tbs heavy cream
2 tsp clear vanilla
2 lbs powdered sugar (about 8 cups)
1-3 tbs corn syrup

the recipe varies. some times i dont add corn syrup or even 5 tbs of heavy cream. just depends.

cakeythings1961 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeythings1961 Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:21am
post #4 of 19

Between the butter, cream, and corn syrup, was it a very soft icing? Maybe that was the issue?

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 2:36am
post #5 of 19