Is This Ok For Stacking A 3-Tier Cake?

Decorating By divadane Updated 11 Sep 2010 , 11:35pm by cakesbycathy

divadane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divadane Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:09am
post #1 of 17

so i have a 14-inch masonite board for the bottom 12-inch tier. i then plan to stick in the dowels and place the next layer (10in) on a 10-inch cardboard round, and to top it off with an 8inch cake on an 8inch cardboard round.

i've never done a tiered cake before, so PLEASE correct me if i'm making any major support mistakes that won't present themselves until the time of delivery.......?

i also don't plan on assembling the cakes until i arrive at the restaurant. we have about a 2hr ride, so i intend to place each layer in a box (without a top) that will keep them as snug as possible. then, i thought i'd just bring some "glue" and stack the cakes at the time of the party.

advice??

16 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:21am
post #2 of 17

Don't forget to dowel your 10".

divadane Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:24am
post #3 of 17

right - definitely. just forgot to mention it icon_smile.gif

cab333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cab333 Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:31am
post #4 of 17

I hope you dont mind me asking...but do you build the tiers with the cardboard rounds or without them? My limited experience is only with two tiers, and I don't normally use the cardboard. Am I constructing my cakes wrong?

divadane Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:33am
post #5 of 17

i don't really understand your question, cab333............... i always thought i'd HAVE to stack with the cardboard. that way, if the dowels from the layer below pop up, they're hitting cardboard and not cake...........

...right?

i'm a true novice!!

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 12:49am
post #6 of 17