Pokemon Cake

Decorating By 2txmedics Updated 30 Sep 2010 , 2:38pm by imagenthatnj

2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 9 Sep 2010 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 11

How can I make a simple but nice Pokemon cake...the little yellow cartoon?...in 3d, can I make it using the bear pan?....I saw what little pictures were on here...

I would be making it out of BC ...any ideas would be helpful, due in 2wks.

10 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 9 Sep 2010 , 9:57pm
post #2 of 11
2txmedics Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 1:18am
post #3 of 11

Its not that I didnt care for them, I work in BC only and Ive never done a 3D, Im a newbie you can tell by looking at my pictures...so this will be a new cake...for a party of 40ppl.

I just wanted to know if it could be done out of the Bear pan, and if so, how do I make the tail, ears, hands....RI???

Im lost and wanted input...thanks!

cheatize Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheatize Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 4:17am
post #4 of 11

I can picture Pikachu from the bear pan. You'll probably have to use chocolate to make his tail, though. Perhaps chocolate would work for the ears, too.

I have no idea about the arms and hands. Mine always stink on the bear pan and I never remember how to do until a few days after the cake is done.

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 11 Sep 2010 , 6:48pm
post #5 of 11

Not many people attempt this, but some pointers that I've read on the internet.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thewelldressedcake/4435169915/

Lots of support, so that your cake doesn't collapse.

Smoothing your buttercream on a curvy Pikachu could be hard. You need lost of patience.

For the tail you might have to use gumpaste since anything else would probably break.

The only thing harder than gumpaste I think it's pastillage. It dries really hard.