Can Someone Check My Timeline And More Questions??

Decorating By mrsmac888 Updated 17 Sep 2010 , 12:26pm by mrsmac888

mrsmac888 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsmac888 Posted 9 Sep 2010 , 2:55pm
post #1 of 8

Hello Caksters!

I'm a total novice at cake decorating and need some advice, actually more advice....

I'm going to attempt the Wilton Petal Poetry cake found here, http://www.wilton.com/idea/Petal-Poetry
I'll be using the 14, 10 and 6 inch cake pans as described in the Wilton instructions.
I'm making this cake for my sister's 50th Birthday with 100 guests, oh my gosh, I am SO nervous! I've never attempted anything to this magnatude. Can you say panic attack???

Anyway, for each tier I'm going to make two cakes, 3 inches each, of each pan size. I'm planning on each tier to be 6 inches or so in height. Each tier will have filling in between the two cakes.

The party is next Saturday (not this Saturday) and the cake has to be done by 1:00 pm. I plan on making all the cakes on Thursday, one week from today. I'm going to do the fillings and crum coat on that same day. Can the cakes then just sit in the fridge? Should they be covered with saran wrap? Or would it be best to also do the buttercream that same day? Same questions, do I cover them at all if they have the final buttercream on them?

I then plan on doing the final flower decorations on either Friday or Saturday. I'll have time to do the final decorating on Saturday, so should I push the cake baking to Friday, in order to keep the cakes from having to sit too long and possibly drying out??