Help With Birthday Cake

Decorating By wt99 Updated 9 Sep 2010 , 3:20am by kitty122000

wt99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wt99 Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 12:54am
post #1 of 6

First off great forum. The amount of information is overwhelming. I am new to cake decorating and had a few questions to help with a project.
Two tier oval cake, each tier about 3" high, buttercream frosting, fondant covered(fondarific). RK structure on dowels on top of 2nd tier, fondant covered. I will place the layers over the dowels.
I am going to make it 1 day before the event.
1. Buttercream recipe has milk in it, does it need to be refrigerated the day before and/or the day of. need about 8 hours w/o refrig.
2. If refrigerated, how will it effect the fondant or what precautions should I take.
3. Traveling about 4 hours, outside of running the AC, is there anything else that I need to do. Do cakes typically travel well?
4. Should I use dowels between the first and second tier?

Also I am planning an isomalt window pane, hopefully its not more than following directions and pouring into a mold.
I am sure more questions will come up as I get comments and questions from others. Thanks.

5 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 3:21am
post #2 of 6

You don't need to worry about the BC...the sugar keeps it from spoiling. No effect for the fondant either. As for traveling you should be ok. A crisco based BC will stand up to the heat better than a butter based one so thats something to consider. Keep your car as cold as possible. If you have a heat resistant BC such as indydebi's recipe then you should be just fine. The fondant won't melt but the BC under may and the cake may get too moist as it does...BUT if you have a heat resistant BC then this won't happen. And, yes, support the top tier with dowels...4 should do it. As for isomalt...I have no answers. Sorry!

Cat

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile