Need Help Pricing This Cake....please

Decorating By Meghan1010 Updated 25 May 2012 , 5:08pm by SoFloGuy

jenscreativity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenscreativity Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 3:24am
post #31 of 43

Indydebi: you brought tears to my eyes with your humor on about isle 8...omgosh,,you are too funny, that I always loved your comments..they just crack me up b/c they are so true too! Thanks for the laughs always! I"m still smiling..so funny.

Abisnail Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Abisnail Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 9:37pm
post #32 of 43

I have the undercharging problem too!! I made an 8" round cake with a large fondant character topper and 2 dozen cupcakes...I was heavily pregnant and it took me all day, about 8 hours as I was a beginner. It cost me £28 to make as I was new to it and hadn't sourced the bargain suppliers that I have now and I went and charged the girl £40! WHAT AN IDIOT! I have learnt and am slowly, discreetly putting my prices up!

warchild Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
warchild Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 12:14pm
post #33 of 43

The decorator/bakery your photo came from charges $4.25 per slice for wedding cakes, with any hand made decor, extra.

The chart they have on the website for serving size, rounds...

6 inch - 14
8 inch - 25
9 inch - 32
10 inch - 39
12 inch - 56
14 inch - 77
16 inch - 100
18 inch - 127

You're making a 14, 12, 10. By the chart thats 172 x $4.25 = $731

I enlarged the photo as much as I could, and from what I can make out, the grapes and vines are not real, they're artificial. The piping looks to be squiggly lines with small white leaves piped at random.

$4.25 per slice is not that unreasonable what with the cost of supplies these days, plus theres your time to consider. If you can get that in your area, I say go for it, don't sell yourself short. Too many of us do just that, we don't charge enough for our work and end up regretting it.

midniteaddiction Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile