How Would You Handle This - Should I Give A Complete Refund?

Decorating By howsweet Updated 8 Sep 2010 , 7:28pm by neelycharmed

howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 47

I think the customer wants her money back. The order was for 18 very detailed fondant cupcakes and 15 cookies highly decorated, cellophane wrapped with ribbon ties. About $230. Somehow I gave her vanilla cupcakes instead of chocolate. It didn't effect the presentation of the order because they were in black cups, fwiw.

I have no experience with this - should I give her the cupcakes for free? That seems like too much because most of value was in the detailed decoration. I don't know what to do.

46 replies
awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 6:50pm
post #2 of 47

What did the customer say to you? Did she want all of her money back?

Jenniferkay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenniferkay Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 6:52pm
post #3 of 47

I do think a refund is in order. Her order was wrong. I break it down to three parts: cake, decor and timeliness. The first two weigh more heavily than the last..well unless the order was way overdue or never made it. It's like you went to restaraunt and you ordered steak and they gave you chicken. Are you happy? Yes your plate looks pretty, but does it taste the same?

ETA: not a FULL refund! partial

JP Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JP Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 6:53pm
post #4 of 47