Partnership Plus Truffles Pricing

Business By Kaka Updated 6 Sep 2010 , 4:25am by indydebi

Kaka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kaka Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 5:26pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everybody!
I am starting a new business and I have some money to invest. Now I am thinking in asking someone who knows how to make everything I want to be a partner. Actually she knows the bake/cook part of it.

Does anyone have any experience with this kind of situation? How much I should offer since "cooking" is what she will do? Should I pay for her time like a regular employee too? I am lost!

Also how can I calculate "truffles" pricing? It is so little of everything (supplies) but then all the other costs... It is my first time having this kind of business so I have no idea...
Thank you very much!

Kaka

4 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 6:14pm
post #2 of 5

What kind of partnership are you looking for? You can have a 50/50. Or you can own the business and have her as an employee and treat it as such.

Can I ask why you want to go into a business, but don't know how to make the product you want to supply? What happens if something happens to the partnership or she decides she doesn't want to work with/for you any more?

As far as pricing it is based off of how much you spend making it, how long it takes you and how much your time is worth, plus how much profit you want.

While the cost of actually making the truffles may not be much you still have to bag/box them or have them in some sort of container. With items like that, I think the packaging is where the cost really adds up.

Kaka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kaka Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 1:42am
post #3 of 5

thank you for your response.