Help!!! Square Pan Dilema

Decorating By Godiva Updated 2 Sep 2005 , 5:22am by SquirrellyCakes

Godiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godiva Posted 2 Sep 2005 , 3:44am
post #1 of 9

Hi there,

Some of you may remember I was looking into buying my first set of square pans for a cake I have for this Saturday...Well I bought them, 3" high....

But now I have a huge problem!!! icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif The 6 & 8 baked perfectly well...However, the 10 & 12 are not! icon_cry.gif The fats are concentrating in the center, and I've already baked a substitue to find out that I had the same problem again! I don't know what to do and the cake is due by 12:30 pm Saturday....

I am literally loosing my hair here and breaking out....

Has this happened to anyone of you? If so, how did you handle it or solve the problem... This is my first time baking with 3"and square too...Never had the problem before

Thanks!

8 replies
susanmm23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susanmm23 Posted 2 Sep 2005 , 3:52am
post #2 of 9

Are you using a heating core or upside down flower nail???? I have baked in as large as 14 inch square and havent had this happen. sorry i cant be more help.

Godiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godiva Posted 2 Sep 2005 , 3:57am
post #3 of 9

Never used one before...I have baked 14" cake without one successfully...But it wont hurt to try this time...
Thanks for your prompt reply!

... icon_confused.gificon_mad.gif It just dawned on me that I altered the recipe! Well, just added an extra egg, but it is "liquid" and putting extra liquid in a recipe can alter it...Not sure though, because the other two worked out, it's just the larger ones... icon_cry.gif

susanmm23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susanmm23 Posted 2 Sep 2005 , 4:00am
post #4 of 9

hope it helps. im really not sure what else it could be.

HollyPJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HollyPJ Posted 2 Sep 2005 , 4:06am
post #5 of 9

a heating core really can make all the difference! Good luck!