Beginners Dilemma!

Decorating By sarahm84 Updated 1 Sep 2010 , 3:25am by playingwithsugar

sarahm84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahm84 Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 8:24am
post #1 of 7

ok so im new to this but have watched my mum make some gorgeous cakes over the years. i have recently had a dabble and managed ladybirds, castles and even a Lamborghini cake. People seem impressed by these and im getting more requests of friends which im willing to have a stab at.
a friend has recently asked for a 60th cake for his mum, 3 tiers. one for each 'stage' in her life. childhood, when she met her hubby and had kids, and the top tier is now. I intend to decorate it with edible pics and gumpaste models. some of the things i need to do i am a little stuck with so im going to list the 'help' items below and see if any of u good people can assist! thanks!

a spiral staircase ... out of gumpaste? this is for the childhood tier at the bottom.

i wud love a link to a good gumpaste tutorial for people and cats!

where can i get edible pictures printed, or the best place to buy the inks myself

thanks again! x

6 replies
eve81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eve81 Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 11:36am
post #2 of 7

Hi! good luck with cake. sounds amazing.
I'm not really sure about most of your questions but another CC-er did a list of tutorials for figures that I found this week. It doesnt have cats listed but maybe you will find cats by one of the ppl that make the other animals on the list.

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-672099-rylan.html

tmac670 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tmac670 Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 11:50am
post #3 of 7

A spiral staircase? Wow- when you get that one figured out make sure to take step by step pics-- that would make an AWESOME tutorial!

soph917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soph917 Posted 31 Aug 2010 , 5:36am
post #4 of 7