Cake Mixes Okay?

Decorating By ajarvis Updated 24 Aug 2010 , 3:25am by ajarvis

ajarvis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajarvis Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 10:29pm
post #1 of 9

I don't have a business, but a few acquaintances have asked me to decorate a cake for them for whatever occasion, knowing that I'm not a professional. Anyway, since it's so much fun, I think I may look into to creating a website with prices and such, but that's still a ways off. My question is: up until now I just ask what flavor cake/filling they want and then go buy a Betty Crocker cake mix and mix whatever filling (usually flavored bc or jelly glaze). If/when I start really charging a set price for my cakes, is it okay to use a box mix, or should I bake nice recipes from scratch? Right now it's just more convenient to use a boxed mix, so I haven't thought about anything else, but I don't know if paying customers would be happy with a beautiful Betty Crocker cake. Please give me your opinions and insight. Thanks!

8 replies
Spectra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spectra Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 10:57pm
post #2 of 9

You can bake with whichever you like. I know a lot use doctored cake recipes, such as the White Almond Sour Cream, WASC, which used a boxed mix as part of the ingredients. It helps to make the cake sturdier and tastier! I think your customers would love it and that's what matters most.

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:09pm
post #3 of 9

Oh goodness, this is always a HUGE debate. icon_confused.gif

If you really want to read a LOT about this, go here: http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-684698.html

flamingobaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flamingobaker Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:50pm
post #4 of 9

Most people don't ask, they just think my cakes taste great (I use a doctored box), but you have to make whatever your customers like!
So, no, you don't HAVE to make anything a certain way!