Just Starting Out - Name Help Please!

Business By vwolf Updated 16 Aug 2010 , 7:38pm by vwolf

vwolf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vwolf Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 1:00am
post #1 of 7

I have been baking cakes since I was a kid, a few years ago I took the wilton cake decorating classes. I fell in love with cake decorating. Since then I have been doing cakes for my extended family and friends. I also did both my daughter and my sons wedding cakes. Anyhow I have contacted the Ohio Dept of Agri. to see what I need to do to be a legal home bakery and am working on getting that done. I found a name that I like but I don't know how to complete it....It's CuppyCakes, I don't know if I should call it a bakery or cakery of Bake Shoppe or how to finish it, anyhow I bought the domain name cuppycakesonline.com I am going to do custom cakes and cupcakes. Any suggestions would be appreciated. icon_smile.gif

6 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 1:13am
post #2 of 7

FYI, someone in Ohio registered "Cuppiecakes Bakery LLC" about a month ago -- that might be an issue, especially if they are in the same county. You can see the business registration info at the link below (do a soundex search for "cuppycakes").

http://www2.sos.state.oh.us/pls/portal/PORTAL_BS.BS_QRY_BUS_INFORMATION1.SHOW_PARMS

vwolf Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 1:50am
post #3 of 7

Thanks, I did a search there before, but not the soundex, didn't know what that was, anyhow they are in a different area. I guess Cuppycakes Bakery is out, but I am thinking Cuppycakes Cakery or Cuppycakes Bake Shoppe. Any thoughts?

vwolf Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 2:32am
post #4 of 7

I went back to the Ohio S.O.S. website, I think if the spelling is different , which it is, it may be acceptable. Anyhow, should you set up an LLC? I am just doing home baking. It will only be part time, since I work a 40hr a week job. If you do set up an LLC, do you have to file tax paperwork quarterly?