Have You Always Booked Every Tasting?

Business By Tellis12 Updated 15 Aug 2010 , 1:49am by jillmakescakes

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 1:34am
post #1 of 12

Well, I'm fairly new to the tasting/wedding world. In fact, I might be considered brand spankin' new. This is my first year doing weddings and I've got a total of 12 scheduled for this year. I've done tastings for all of those, plus about that many more that haven't booked. I've done two this week, neither of which have booked. Looking back at each tasting I've done I can see things that I should have done differently.

I was just wondering, especially for those of you who have a high booking rate, what it was like when you started doing them. What were some of the things you changed to do better?

11 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 1:40am
post #2 of 12

It's a constantly evolving process until you get your "script" down pat. When I'd find something that was causing frequent follow up questions, I'd revamp my tasting script to include that information.

You're not going to book everyone, and that's ok. I booked about 95% of those that came in, and that number is a result of what I consider good prep work starting at the very first email/phone inquiry. It's a result of refining my script, my pre-formatted information, and my post-sampling email with the quotes. (Those who attended the Columbus cake club meeting got to hear a bit on this very topic!)

It sounds like you are doing well! thumbs_up.gif Just keep adjusting and fine tuning as you learn what is working and what needs a tweak here and there!

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 2:10am
post #3 of 12

Debi's right, big shocker. icon_surprised.gif