Question About Royal Icing

Decorating By Michelle_in_WI Updated 19 Aug 2010 , 10:57am by Goldberry

Michelle_in_WI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Michelle_in_WI Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 9:06pm
post #1 of 6

Hello! I'm a lurker and a newbie, and I first want to thank everyone for all the fantastic information here on CC! I have learned SO much, and am feeling much more confident about making a "pretty, garden-y" cake for my mom per her request for a party she is throwing this coming Monday (which I have refused to take any money for. Hello, not legal!).

Anyhow, my question: I am making royal icing butterflies and dragonflies on wires (which I will NOT be sticking directly into the cake-thanks for the great info!) for the top of the cake. The royal icing has proven to be a royal pain in this weather, but I have several of each drying right now -extras factored in for breaking. I have already made fondant/gumpaste mix roses, to which I applied pearl dust. Am I going to wreck/weaken my royal icing if I apply a bit of clear vanilla with a brush so I can apply pearl dust to my butterflies and dragonflies? Is there a better way to do this? Should I not do it at all? I just don't want to end up over in the disasters thread! icon_lol.gif

Thanks in advance for your help!

5 replies
Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 9:24pm
post #2 of 6

Hi, I only paint with vodka since it dries quickly I've never used vanilla for this application. The ideal way to apply luster dust to RI is spray if you do not have this product:

http://www.globalsugarart.com/product.php?id=20036&name=Lustre%20Spray%20Pearl%20by%20PME

Since you've having issues with humidity why don't you just dust it on dry?

TrixieTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrixieTreats Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 11:14pm
post #3 of 6