Cupcake Toppers

Baking By lesley1080 Updated 13 Aug 2010 , 11:59pm by Uniqueask

lesley1080 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lesley1080 Posted 11 Aug 2010 , 11:43am
post #1 of 7

Hi, I am new to cake decorating and am wanting to make cupcakes mask toppers. I bought a little mould and have been practicing with fondant and the mould makes exactly what I want but I have a few questions.

Should the toppers be dried and therefore hard? Can people still eat the toppers if they are hard?

Is it possible to make them soft?

How far in advance can I make them?

I'm thinking about using the regal royal ice - will this work and taste ok?

Also what size piping nozzle should i use to pipe a nice swirl on the top of the cake?

Thanks in advance for the help.

6 replies
zespri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zespri Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:42am
post #2 of 7

Hi Lesley!

yes, the toppers should be dried (for several days), but because you are just using fondant (as opposed to gumpaste) they will go firm, but not ROCK hard. I think the general rule is that if you're making small toppers (as you do for cupcakes) then using fondant is a good idea, as it's way yummier than gumpaste. If you are making larger things (like people to sit on cakes), then gumpaste is the way to go.

To sum up the differences:
Fondant = yummy, but softer and a little bit harder to work with. It won't set as hard, but people will eat them happily.
Gumpaste = not so yummy, a bit easier to work with, and will dry hard as a rock. While it's edible, most people don't eat it, especially as it's so hard.

There is also the option of using half of each, or adding a little 'tylose powder'. That makes it easier to work with (firmer), and it dries harder, while still tasting yummy.

Hope that wasn't too much info on whether or not you can make them soft!