Who Here Is Self Taught?

Decorating By SweetPatsy Updated 3 Oct 2011 , 10:45pm by jules5000

BeanCountingBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeanCountingBaker Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 3:04pm
post #31 of 135

I was totally in the dark about cakes before Cake Central and Youtube. My husband keeps suggesting I take a class, but why spend the money and travel time (closest class is 50 miles one way) when I can find better info on the internet.

greengyrl26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greengyrl26 Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 3:05pm
post #32 of 135

Self-taught for the most part. Took some wilton classes for the basics. But the bulk of what I know and do, I taught myself thru books, videos or online.

Babs1964 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Babs1964 Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 3:08pm
post #33 of 135

Self taught, Google, You-Tube & now Cake Central are my sources of information!

Kima920 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kima920 Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 3:12pm
post #34 of 135

I am self-taught as well. Didn't take any "basic" classes until this year and have been caking since last year. But mostly trial and errors lots of asking questions on CC and watching Youtube videos.. I don't necessarily think that because you don't go to school doesn't make you a good cake baker/decorator. Many of the known cake decorators do not have official schooling. I am proud to tell people I am self taught, it just shows the passion and determination I have for the craft.
Kima

debbief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbief Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 3:13pm
post #35 of 135