Want To Learn The Science Of Baking

Decorating By sappy42 Updated 7 Aug 2010 , 12:25am by itsacake

sappy42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sappy42 Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 1:18pm
post #1 of 10

Hello! Newbie here. Does anyone have any suggestions (other than to go to pastry school, which I've considered) on how to learn the science of baking? I'm trying recipes but want to understand what everything does and why. I grew up on cake mixes and while I like them I really want to learn to do scratch recipes.

I'd love input from the pros/experts or even beginners who are a little further along in it than me! TIA!

Tina

9 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 1:26pm
post #2 of 10

Alton Brown has a couple of great books out, one on the science of cooking and the other on the science of baking. They are "I'm here for the food" and "I'm here for more food," or something like that. If you go on Amazon and look them up, several other science of baking books come up too. Oh and welcome to CC!! icon_biggrin.gif

deMuralist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deMuralist Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 1:32pm
post #3 of 10

I like Shirley O. Corriher's "Cookwise". Great information on cooking and baking and what each ingredient does, but don't care for her recipes. I often give this book as a wedding gift.

kmstreepey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kmstreepey Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 1:33pm
post #4 of 10