Coach Purse Cake - Please Help

Decorating By jewelamber8 Updated 4 Aug 2010 , 11:10pm by erichazann

jewelamber8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewelamber8 Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 6:44pm
post #1 of 9

Can someone point me in the right direction of a good tutorial on how to make a coach purse cake. I have someone wanting one on August 13th. Please recommend the best type of cake recipe for staking a 3d cake like this. Also, what is the best way to get the Cs on the cake? I appreciate all of your time & help!

8 replies
808hedda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
808hedda Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 11:47pm
post #2 of 9

I am by no means an expert but I have done a few Coach purses. Each time I have used a box chocolate cake(this seems to work for me). Then I froze the layers and then carved it. I did, however, just make the Wedding cake recipe found on cc. It was pretty dense and would probably carve well. Tastes great too! I made my own stencil and airbrushed my c's on there. Pretty lengthy process, but turns out nice. I know some people use fondant for the c's but I prefer the airbrush. You can see some in my pics. Good Luck icon_biggrin.gif

jewelamber8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewelamber8 Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 4:01am
post #3 of 9

Wow! Your cakes are amazing! I would love to learn the airbrush method, but don't know a lot about it. I guess I need to do some searching to figure all of that out. Do you know if there is a template or stencil for the Cs? Thank you so much for your help!!

808hedda Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 6:36pm
post #4 of 9