Question About The Profession

Business By Vegasgirl77 Updated 3 Aug 2010 , 12:30am by Kiddiekakes

Vegasgirl77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Vegasgirl77 Posted 2 Aug 2010 , 8:15pm
post #1 of 4

Hi, I'm new to the forum and I joined because I love cake decorating. I have a AA in Interior Design, but, after I graduated the economy plummeted and needless to say, I never got a job..BUT, I really am not all that interested in interior design because I THOUGHT it was a job where you just help people design their home..no, it's commission sales, it's mostly about getting them to buy the most expensive furniture and spend as much as possible (just like cars).

I took a cake decorating class at Michaels and LOVED it, so, I think I should have gone in that direction. To all of you professional cake decorators, how did you get started? What classes did you take? Did you go to a culinary school or small calsses, like at an art store?

2nd question, after taking the classes, where did you start? Did you work in a supermarket and move your way up? or just started a business from word of mouth?

3 replies
jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 2 Aug 2010 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 4

I started, like many others, making cakes for my kids. I also took the wilton classes. i have no pastry school experience (heck, or college for that matter)

Once I took the classes, I gave away a TON of cakes just so I could practice. Keep in mind that before you ever sell a cake, you need to know the HD regs for your area.

After a while, I really wanted to do wedding cakes, so I used a commercial kitchen and tried my hand. I had enough inquiries for the next year that I decided to run the numbers and see what it took to open my shop. Took a lot of work, late nights, and computer time, but we've been open for 1.5 years and we've got several 2011 bookings already!