Sugar Worktool List For A Newbie??

Sugar Work By multilayered Updated 14 Dec 2010 , 10:22pm by imagenthatnj

multilayered Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
multilayered Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 13

I have and interested in starting to work with poured/blown sugar to help bump my cakes up to a new level. What would the bare bones essentials be tool wise for a beginner? Are the things very expensive or can I start with minimal expense? Any advice would be really appreciated.Thanks so muchicon_smile.gif

12 replies
bnmusician Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bnmusician Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 3:31pm
post #2 of 13

I am in the same exact boat and have been thinking about learning how to work with sugar for a while now. I wish there was a place I could take a couple of classes on it. Id love to know this information too.

chococherry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chococherry Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 6:43pm
post #3 of 13

I'm new at it as well, and I am just experimenting with trying different things and seeing what works. Right now i have a silicone mat, a bench scraper, a marble stone, a silicone pastry brush, and of course, a thermometer. As I said, I am just starting out.

I will probably be adding the things that follow on this list!

JennuinelySweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennuinelySweet Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 7:31pm
post #4 of 13

I too am trying to learn this, going to search cakes with sugar work and ask them to reply to this forum...

Melsablondy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melsablondy Posted 18 Nov 2010 , 5:21am
post #5 of 13