Silly Beginner Basic Question - Bc Storage

Decorating By gavsgirl Updated 24 Jul 2010 , 10:16pm by kimbordeaux

gavsgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gavsgirl Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 7

I'm doing my first cake this weekend, a prototype of what I will do again in about 2 weeks for my sons 3rd birthday. I've never done a "real" cake before so I want to get some practice in. But I realized that in all my research for decorating and such I had some really silly basic questions.

I plan on icing in indydebi's BC. I hope to make my sons cake the day before the party. How far in advance can you make a cake iced in BC? Does the cake need to be refrigerated? How long can the cake stay out if it does? I live in South Carolina and last year on his birthday it was over 100 degrees. We are having the party indoors but still, it gets warm in here. I just don't know the proper storage for a cake. I feel stupid considering all the investigating and questioning I did about fondant and gumpaste for the decoration that I didn't even think to ask such a basic question before lol

Thanks!

6 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 5:54pm
post #2 of 7

[quote="gavsgirl"]I'm doing my first cake this weekend, a prototype of what I will do again in about 2 weeks for my sons 3rd birthday. I've never done a "real" cake before so I want to get some practice in. But I realized that in all my research for decorating and such I had some really silly basic questions.