Ok-Several Questions-Plz Help Or My Sister Will Laugh

Decorating By bibbles6598 Updated 23 Jul 2010 , 11:11pm by bibbles6598

bibbles6598 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bibbles6598 Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 12

I've promised my sister a cake for my nephew. It's a five tiered toy story cake that a pic was listed of here on cc. Now, I'm no professional but I seriously think I can pull this off. The tiers are pretty basically designed but what makes it are the characters. I was thinking of making the bottom two tiers "fake" so the questions are:

1. where would I buy the two "fake" layers? Global sugar art?

2. What sizes do they come in?

3. I was thinking of a 14, 12, 10, 8 and 6 inch stacked cake...does that sound good and big enough?

4. What kind of support system should I use? Since I have only done 2 tiered cakes I have just used a dowel but I know that won't work with this one. Keep in mind the bottom two tiers will be fake. I'm assuming I could set them up and drive them to the party and then stack the rest there??
And lastly....could I decorate the two fake layers ahead of time and if so, how far ahead? The party is in 3 weeks.

11 replies
tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 9:44pm
post #2 of 12

1. you can get cake dummies here... http://www.dallas-foam.com/store/cakedummies.html

2. they come in those sizes and many others.

3. dowels would work. If the bottom three are cake dummies then you would only have a three stack of actual cake. dowels would be fine. I have not used the straws or sps. so no info to offer there.

opps.. for got about the deco question, you can decorate the fakes anytime. if you are modeling the charactes get started NOW!! they take forever to dry!! In my experience anyway

bibbles6598 Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 9:57pm
post #3 of 12

Thanks so much!!! I'm going to be doing the characters out of gumpaste ..or should I do fondant?

tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile