No Supplies, But I Want To Make My Birthday Cake!

Decorating By motherofgrace Updated 17 Jul 2010 , 3:23am by jenniboo

motherofgrace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
motherofgrace Posted 16 Jul 2010 , 11:31pm
post #1 of 10

Well I really want to make my own birthday cake for tomorrow, but I have no decorating bags lol....................... any ideas?

I am also out of parchment.

But I do have wax paper and a small silicone matt LOL

Im not getting anywhere am I LMAO!

9 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 16 Jul 2010 , 11:55pm
post #2 of 10

I NEVER use parchment paper to line my baking pans. I would go broke icon_lol.gif using that to line baking pans. I do use wax paper and I only line the bottom. I've been using wax paper for over 30 years and it works just fine thumbs_up.gif so save that parchment for your cookies icon_wink.gif

I haven't had any decorating bags in my house in over 3 months. I use fondant for all of the cakes that I make for my family and friends. I hate piping ANYTHING and have to do enough of that at work so the cakes that I make "on the side" are all fondant.

Happy Birthday btw

thumbs_up.gif

motherofgrace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
motherofgrace Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 12:01am
post #3 of 10

Im out of fondant too LOL!!!

Maybe i can use a ziplock bag???

And thanks for the wax paper tip!

Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 12:13am
post #4 of 10

I buy parchment paper by the case at a restaurant supply store so it is definitely cheaper than wax paper.

mamawrobin Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 12:16am
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Occther

I buy parchment paper by the case at a restaurant supply store so it is definitely cheaper than wax paper.

Really icon_eek.gificon_surprised.gif I get 100 square feet of wax paper for $1.00.

Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 1:29am
post #6 of 10