How Would You Handle This Customer

Business By mcjrix Updated 18 Jul 2010 , 2:30am by cheatize

mcjrix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcjrix Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 6:53pm
post #1 of 27

I'm new to making wedding cakes. I'm making my 2nd wedding cake this weekend. I told the customer that if she was paying by check I needed payment 2 weeks ahead of time, but if she was paying cash she could get it to me a few days ahead of time (I know I should have told her 2 weeks ahead either way). So she of course said she'd pay cash. Well last Monday she said she wouldn't have time to get bring me cash, so she'd just send a check. It was already less than 2 weeks but I let it go. Well I have still not received payment. I sent her a message yesterday and she said she had mailed it but would send another check. Now I'm worried though. If I do actually receive the check I'm nervous that it's going to come back NSF the following week and I'll be out of luck. How do you guys handle collecting payments from customers?

26 replies
cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 7:00pm
post #2 of 27

I don't accept checks EVER! Call her back and tell her that you cannot accept a check at this point, that she must bring you cash or no cake and no refunds if she already paid you a deposit...You did get a deposit right?

jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 7:03pm
post #3 of 27

tell her at this point, she has a problem. You have no money, so you cannot make her cake. You want a CASHIER'S check by XXX o'clock this afternoon or no cake. That way there will be no NSF, because a cashier's check guarantees money in her bank account to cover it.

Then, you need to have a contract for EVERY wedding client to sign that says "payment in hand by XX, or no cake and they lose their deposit." I even charge a 10% fee if they are late. I have had to do it, and when you get busy, you will be glad you had it all in writing.