Cake Flattened And Pulled Away From Sides

Baking By Redsoxbaker Updated 11 Jul 2010 , 2:09pm by Redsoxbaker

Redsoxbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Redsoxbaker Posted 11 Jul 2010 , 12:45pm
post #1 of 10

This is my first attempt at a stacked cake. I used the Durable Cake for 3D and Wedding Cakes recipe. I made two 12" cakes and only used 1 recipe for each pan because it was about 3/4 full. I cooked it for about 50 minutes and the toothpick was clean. As soon as I put it on the cooling rack, it started to flatten out and pull away from the sides. I did use a rose nail in the middle. What did I do wrong? They both turned out this way! Very frustrated. I'm attempting an anniversary cake for my brother-in-law and sister-in-law. icon_cry.gif

9 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Jul 2010 , 12:59pm
post #2 of 10

Pulling away from the sides is a normal part of the cooling process (basic 3rd grade science lesson ...... hot expands and cool contracts).

When you say the cake flattened, do you mean it fell and created a crater in the top of your cake, or you do you mean you have a nice smooth flat top that won't require any trimming?

I actually push down the tops of my cakes to get them to flatten out a bit.

Unless the cake is raw inside, I'd say you mastered how to make the perfect cake! It's contracting a bit to help you get it out of the pan easier and it's flat on top, like we all strive to get our cakes to do! thumbs_up.gif

ycknits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ycknits Posted 11 Jul 2010 , 1:03pm
post #3 of 10