Gluten Free Frosting?

Baking By mommabuda Updated 14 Jul 2010 , 10:19am by auzzi

mommabuda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommabuda Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 5:55pm
post #1 of 5

I am new to the gluten free thing... just got asked to make 6 cupcakes for a wedding (groom's sister is gluten free)... I have the cake part covered but what do I use for the recipe? Is just a plain buttercream okay to use? I'm confused!!! Thanks!

4 replies
foxymomma521 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foxymomma521 Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 6:06pm
post #2 of 5

As long as your vanilla/flavoring is GF, you should be fine... Most icings are Gfree, unless of course it's a flour based frosting icon_wink.gif Good luck! btw- many of my family members are gfree, and they LOVE ganache on their chocolate gfree cake!

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 6:49pm
post #3 of 5

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-683095-gluten.html

I always thought icings and frostings were OK until I read the above post. I'd go for the ganache, too, just to be on the safe side.

mommabuda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommabuda Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 7:02pm
post #4 of 5

Okay, I've never done ganache. Any good recipes to point me in the direction icon_smile.gif Thanks!

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 14 Jul 2010 , 10:19am
post #5 of 5

Not all chocolate is gluten-free ..

Baking gluten-free can present a challenge to bakers that do not typically bake gluten-free.

Notes: Two out of three of mine are coeliac - I bake gluten-free for the five of us .. I rarely have gluten products in the kitchen these days.

Many times that people who are coeliac are "glutened" is when they ingest product that is cross-contaminated at the food source.

Baking Notes: not complete and not limited to -

1. No wooden utensils: they are highly absorbent - no rolling pin, no cake board