Advice Cooling An 15X11 Sheet Cake

Decorating By GraceDidIt Updated 28 Jul 2010 , 5:53am by auntiecake

GraceDidIt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GraceDidIt Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 10:18pm
post #1 of 10

Hello, all!

This is my first time baking a half-sheet cake (15" x 11"). So overwhelmed on how to flip the cake over to cool off WITHOUT breaking it.

Any suggestions on best/practical way of doing so without breaking the cake in half or a million pieces?

Would one use full size cooling rack, a cake board or something else?
Thanks so much!

9 replies
GL79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GL79 Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 10:27pm
post #2 of 10

Is it still in the pan? If so, just place a cake board over it and flip the pan. If it's already out the pan, again just place another cake board and flip. You should be fine.

GraceDidIt Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 10:33pm
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GL79

Is it still in the pan? If so, just place a cake board over it and flip the pan. If it's already out the pan, again just place another cake board and flip. You should be fine.

Thanks for the quick response. No, it is cooling off right now. 10 minutes has passed since it's been out of the oven.

BTW, I DO NOT have any cake boards that size.

icon_sad.gif

Should I just use 2 cooling racks (approx. size is 11" x 8") over the cake and then flip?
Thanks in advance.

GL79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GL79 Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 10:45pm
post #4 of 10

Yes the cooling racks are fine as well

GraceDidIt Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 10:56pm
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GL79

Yes the cooling racks are fine as well

Thanks, GL79 for the advice.

I chickened out using the cooling racks --- afraid one of them might slip out while flipping the cake.