How Early Can I Decorate?

Decorating By Crazy4Bay Updated 7 Jul 2010 , 1:52pm by Crazy4Bay

Crazy4Bay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy4Bay Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 4:52pm
post #1 of 8

I am making my first tiered cake for my sister's surprise 25th anniversary party. The party is at another sister's house on Saturday.

I'm baking the cakes today (10, 8 & 6) and will freeze them.

Because I have kids and other food to bring to the party, my plan is to assemble & decorate the cake at the party house the day before (Friday) & leave it in their refrigerator. They have a large empty fridge in their garage so I can leave it in there finished, though I'm not sure if/how I should cover it.

What I'd like to do is to thaw, torte, fill & ice the cakes on Thursday, then bring the iced cakes to my sister's house on friday to assemble and decorate. I'm new to this and my biggest fear is dry cake. Two tiers will be chocolate cake with chocolate ganache filling and one will be yellow cake with a strawberry cream filling. All will be iced with buttercream that is 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening.

If my plan doesn't sound like a great idea, any alternative suggestions are welcome! The reason I'm not doing the entire thing on Friday is that I have two girls age 3 & 5 that will be hanging out at my sister's with me on Friday and I don't want to park them in front of the TV for the entire day. I thought maybe just doing the decorating/assembling there would make it a little less boring for them.

Once I figure out the hows and whens, I get to stress about how it's going to turn out! Ha ha ha! thumbs_up.gif

7 replies
MessMaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MessMaker Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 5:13pm
post #2 of 8