What Cake Decorating Books Should I Buy?

Decorating By Apti Updated 4 Jul 2010 , 4:21am by DanaG21

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 6:07pm
post #1 of 10

Hello everyone in CC-land. I apologize if this is a repeat question, but I cannot figure out how to do a forum search on CC! (I type in the Search box: "Best decorating books" or something like that, and I end up with recipes on royal icing, pictures of cakes made like books, and a list of 140,000 forums....sigh...)

Are books even really necessary? There is SO much info on the internet, but I'm new at this, 4 months, and don't know where to start. I have purchased the Wilton Encyclopedia's Volume 1, 2, 3 dated 1970's which are terrific, the Cake Decorator's Motif Bible, and The Whimsical Bakehouse.

I will be going to ICES in August since I live in San Diego. Should I wait to buy books there? Are they cheaper? Should I check them out from the library first before buying?

Help, please, and thanks a lot.

9 replies
Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 6:20pm
post #2 of 10

You should visit the library & book stores to thumb through the books so you can see what pleases you, we all have such different taste and needs.

I recently ordered a few from: http://www.bookcloseouts.com they were so cheap I figured why not always good references.

My personal all time favorite is Peggy Porschen's books her pictures are gorgeous!

kger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kger Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 6:22pm
post #3 of 10

Ooh, good question. On my wishlist is the Cake Bible, the Cake Book, Whimsical Bakehouse, and the Cake Mix Doctor. Interested to see what others like.

frankdiabetes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frankdiabetes Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 6:29pm
post #4 of 10

I have an uncontrollable addiction to cookbooks, especially baking and cake decorating books. These are some of my favorites:

Cake Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum