Fondant Cut-Outs On Buttercream Cake

Decorating By shawneen Updated 16 Aug 2012 , 4:13pm by EvMarie

shawneen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shawneen Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 1:13am
post #1 of 9

I'm new here and looking for help. I'm making a cake and planning on using buttercream for the cake with fondant cut-outs to decorate. I have a few questions.

How soon should I make the fondant cut-outs?

How do I attach the fondant cut-outs and when should I attach them? Before the buttercream has crusted or after?

Thanks for any help in advance. This is my first time posting and first time attempting this method of decorating.

8 replies
ElmwoodHero Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ElmwoodHero Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 1:21am
post #2 of 9

I try not to add fondant on buttercream cakes. You can, it just doesnt look right. I always do buttercream on buttercream and fondant on fondant.

good luck

MadMillie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MadMillie Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 1:30am
post #3 of 9

Let the buttercream crust, then brush the fondant pieces with a little water and put on cake. You have to get it in the correct spot on the first try because if you move the piece it usually leaves a mark from the colored fondant.

Jesa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jesa Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 1:31am
post #4 of 9

I sometimes put fondant on my bc cakes. I make my cutouts based on how dry/soft I need them to be--if I want them to stand up more I'll make them farther in advance (a couple of days?) but if I want them to curve to the shape of the cake I usually do them close to the time I intend to put them on the cake.

To attach I use a tiny bit of the same bc that the cake is frosted in and gently smear it on the back of the fondant, then I gently place it on the cake, just a little pressure so it doesn't smush the bc behind it and look like it's inlaid into it. I almost always add it after the bc has crusted.