Ahh, Need Help For Last-Minute Change!

Decorating By kkbritt8 Updated 30 Jun 2010 , 8:37pm by tinygoose

kkbritt8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkbritt8 Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:37am
post #1 of 11

I am making a retirement cake for a gentleman at work (the request coming from his close friends, also my co-workers). I am a hobby home baker and am doing this for free. At the beginning I was told they needed a cake for around 45 people and was just given the ideas of bowling (it's a bowling party) or also his prior career in the air force. Then later the request changed and he wanted an all white "wedding" cake because he associates "wedding cakes" to white cake with white buttercream. I was also asked to make him a personalized cake decorated with sort of an in-house joke on it.

I had planned on starting the cake tonight (delivery is Thursday) and wasn't really worried about time since it seemed like it was going to be pretty easy. I was going to do a sheet cake with a bowling theme on it (previously ok'd by the requestor).

NOW I found out today she needs a cake for 75-100 people. That totally changes everything! This isn't a place where I can just bring in an extra sheet cake for serving so all the cakes I bring need to be decorated. Now I'm going to have to do a tiered cake, but I just don't know what to put together so quickly. I still work full time. Any ideas would be appreciated!

10 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:49am
post #2 of 11

You could do a full sheet, serves 100.

Is this expense all on you? If so....you do what you can do and they will like it or lump it!

No contribution....no opinion.

msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 3:48pm
post #3 of 11