Got Myself In A Bit Of Strife....

Decorating By noahsmummy Updated 26 Jun 2010 , 6:01am by cr8zchpr

noahsmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noahsmummy Posted 26 Jun 2010 , 3:15am
post #1 of 8

im a hobby baker, make cakes for friends and family. Anyway, im in a bit of a bind...

a few months ago, i promised id make a cake for a friend for her daughter, due the 17th, then another friend is having her 21st that night, so im doing her cake as well, for 50 people no less.. it will be the biggest cake ive done so far. this was all fine for me until last night....

mum calls me and says we are having a going away party for my sister who is going overseas for 2 years and for my omas birthday... id already said id do the cake a while ago, and then she tells me the date.. 18th july icon_surprised.gificon_cry.gif

im scared. icon_redface.gif lol. the 21st is the night of the 17th, so otherwise i could have done the other two cakes that night, but i wont be getting home until around 11, and its a dinner, so i cant even leave early.

so, my question is, how far in advance can i decorate a cake? i plan on baking (WASC cakes) and freezing ahead fo time, so thats no drama.. but its the decrating im scared of. the daughter cake, is simple, so that ok, but my friends 21st will be a 3 tier pillow cake.. and ive never attempted a pillow cake before.. my sisters is a double decker bus (shes going to england on her travels.. mum and i thought that would be cute) and my omas will be the knitting basket cake on cakejournal.

so for me.. thats a hell of alot of work.

sorry for my huge rambling story.. i have a habit of doing that.. but any tips would be very very very much appreciated! im panicking...plus its rather difficult decorating one cake with an 18 month old at your feet let alone 4! icon_eek.gif

7 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 26 Jun 2010 , 3:31am
post #2 of 8