How Would You Do Chocolate Cake With Raspberry Filling?

Baking By cherrycakes Updated 27 Jun 2010 , 5:14pm by indydebi

cherrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cherrycakes Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:17pm
post #1 of 16

I'm making a wedding cake for my cousin next weekend and he's requested chocolate cake with raspberry filling. I bought the sleeve filling and I have dark chocolate ganache. I'm making the Amazing Chocolate WASC cake and as I'll be torting the layers, I'm just wondering what everyone would do for the filling...mix the sleeve filling and ganache together and use that for all three layers, or have top and bottom raspberry filling and the centre ganache, or do all three layers raspberry filling. or do a very thin coat of ganache topped with raspberry on each layer? I've never worked with the filling before so I don't even know the intensity of the flavour icon_redface.gif Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

15 replies
dinascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dinascakes Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 16

I would personally put a layer of ganache and then a layer of the raspberry filling between each layer of cake. That's just me though. Good luck!

yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:28pm
post #3 of 16

You won't go wrong with any of your choices. I usually do bc with fruit filling on top of it as my filling.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:31pm
post #4 of 16

a dam (a wall of ganache) around the edge of each layer to hold filling in.

place dam about 1/2 in from edge of cake and make it only about a 1/2 inch high.

then a 1/4 inch layer of raspberry filling inside.

put on next layer of cake -- repeat until all layers stacked.

then set aside overnight to allow time for it to settle (or use Leah_s method of putting a large ceramic tile on top to speed up the process)

gravity WILL cause the layers to settle and ganche to squeeze out to the edge.