Vanilla Pudding For Filling In A Wedding Cake???

Decorating By thatslifeca Updated 25 Jun 2010 , 2:48am by arsen102506

thatslifeca Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thatslifeca Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 5:23am
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone, I need some advice please. I'm a hobby baker and have done wedding cakes before, but this was a first for me. The bride would like me to do a 4 tiered cake in french vanilla, not bad right? Well, she would also like the filling to be vanilla pudding. Not home made vanilla filling, she wants those little cup puddings from major brands (get it...LOL...don't want to say name brands). She explained to me that she understand that would cost a lot of money to do, and that she will be more then happy to buy as many packs of this pudding I may need to fill the 4 tiers. Well, long story short, I'm not sure if this cake will hold up to tiering, especially that she only wants the cakes to be filling with this stuff. No other fillings. Has anybody done this? Does this tier without sagging? Oh and the cakes will be covered in fondant. I will take any kind of help. I haven't said I would do it, and I"m thinking I just might not. Just doing some research right now.

16 replies
Katie1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katie1985 Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 5:28am
post #2 of 17

I don't know much about cakes as I am a newbie, however, I can't imagine that would hold up. I've seen single layer cakes that have slipped and cracked. What if you were to make your own pudding with whipping cream to stabilize it a little?

Jeep_girl816 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeep_girl816 Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 5:41am
post #3 of 17

It might not hold up. I think there was a thread on here a while back about using pudding as filling and it slides all over, then soaks into the cake and it has to be refrigerated. I'd try to persuade her into anything else. It has potential disaster written all over it.

elvisb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile