Need Help With A Military Theme Cake

Decorating By BEVERLEY Updated 24 Jun 2010 , 12:26am by CarriM

BEVERLEY Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BEVERLEY Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 11:16pm
post #1 of 8

I am kinda new to the military life with my husband. My husband is in a new unit and they are having a Family Day next month and I have offered to make the cake. LOL. Now I'm not sure what kind of design to do. I want to do an American, military, something to do with his unit, something to do with family theme. I think I want to do three tiers high. Any ideas would be very helpful.
Thanks for any help. usaribbon.gif

7 replies
cakesbymindysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbymindysue Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 11:42pm
post #2 of 8

Are they wanting a centerpiece cake or just cake to have as people want some? My dh has been in for almost 16 years and usually the only time they have a cake as any sort of centerpiece is for formal functions or Christmas (woops, it's Holiday now) parties. If this is just a fun day picnic type thing I would just make a sheet cake with the unit name on it, maybe the emblem depending on how detailed it its. Remember that most people there won't know how to cut a tiered cake and it would either just sit there or be hacked beyond recognition.

MJTKNT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MJTKNT Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 12:58am
post #3 of 8

What does your husband's unit specialize in? Medical, aviation, mp? What branch of the military is he in? Is the "family day" celebration centered around the 4th of July? That'd be helpful for ideas. I've been in the military for 5 years, and we've only ever had store bought sheet cake (which NEVER tastes or looks very good), so I think having a nice cake would be awesome. Either way, someone has to cut the cake, so I don't think it matters if it's tiered and you'd do it, or if it's just a sheet cake and someone else were to do it.

awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile