Newbie-Need Help With A Harry Potter Birthday Cake

Decorating By blondedummie2 Updated 24 Jun 2010 , 3:20pm by soledad

blondedummie2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blondedummie2 Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 9:26pm
post #1 of 3

So I decided that I'm going to make my own cake for my 21st birthday and found the basic idea of what I want to do.
http://superhero-parties.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/amazing-harry-potter-cake2.jpg
http://superhero-parties.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/amazing-harry-potter-cake1.jpg
I have very little experience but, thus far, I've done really good with the few cakes that I've made. I figured that I'd step it up and try a challenging one this time. There's just a few issues that I have and hopefully someone will be able to steer me in the right direction.
Is there a recommended way to fondant the books when they are not stacked directly on top of each other. I assumed that I'd be piping the sides of the books to illustrate pages, but how should I go about extending the fondant to represent the cover? And also, should I be covering the entire cake or just covering the edges and the parts that show?
With the scarf, should I use one solid color for the entire length and just add the strips of the secondary color? Is there an easy way to make the tassels, or just roll out some gum paste or fondant?
I have no intentions of making the money or levitating jar, I only wish to make the wands and glasses. For these items, should I be using gum paste or fondant? If there are any recommended recipes, that would be very welcome too!
I know that I'm asking a lot, but thank you so much for any help that you can provide. [/img]

2 replies
jayne1873 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jayne1873 Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:43am
post #2 of 3

Ok so I will answer a few of your questions my way but you may get other, better suggestions.