When Did You Stop Stressing Over Taste, Looks, Etc.?

Decorating By RebelChick Updated 22 Jun 2010 , 2:57pm by indydebi

RebelChick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebelChick Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 8:03pm
post #1 of 22

I'm just starting out and I get so worried that my cake won't taste good (even though I know it does) or if the person will like the look of the cake (even though my family tells me the cake looks good). Does everyone go thru this and will it go away or lessen as I get more experience?

21 replies
tastyart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastyart Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 8:18pm
post #2 of 22

It might lessen a little, but I still do it some after about 10 years of decorating. On the bright side, our obsessing is why we make a good product!

Christy0722 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Christy0722 Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 8:19pm
post #3 of 22

I always take a small piece of cake that I have cut to level off and and small bit of whatever icing I am using to do a taste test. If it doesn't taste good to me it won't go to the customer. HTH!

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 22

the feeling never goes away...but at some point you become confident and the thoughts and feelings go away a little quicker than the time before. If you don't hear anything...it's good news icon_wink.gif

luvmysmoother Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvmysmoother Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 11:45pm
post #5 of 22

I think when you stop worrying about the taste and look of the cake it's time to stop doing it - the stress keeps us motivated to do the best job possibleicon_smile.gif

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 11:47pm
post #6 of 22