Ganache

Decorating By sweettoothtreats Updated 14 Jun 2010 , 9:34am by noahsmummy

sweettoothtreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettoothtreats Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:07am
post #1 of 6

As I'm a beginner, I have tons of simple questions. I have worked in a restaurant that served the most amazing chocolate cake. I know it was covered it ganache. But I have a fedw questions...

Do I need to do a crumb coat on my cake before covering with Ganache?
Can ganache be used as a filling?
Can ganache be used as a crumb coat under fondant?

Thanks to all the pros that can offer some advice. Thank you.
(Would love to practice all day, every day. Just can't give up full-time job and 3 kids to do so. Envious of all that can.)

5 replies
cassiebunney Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cassiebunney Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:24am
post #2 of 6

Yes you can use ganache as a filling and as a crumb coat under fondant... it works really well for both. I've never used it as a frosting without covering it with fondant so I don't know for sure about crumb coating, I would say it depends on how crubly your cake is just like with buttercream. It is probably a good idea.

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 8:21am
post #3 of 6

I just used ganache for a wedding cake this weekend. Yes you can use it as a filling and no you don't need to crumb coat before applying. Yes you can use it under fondant. I made a chocolate cake with a vanilla mousse covered it in ganache and then covered in fondant. I made my ganache the day before I had to assemble the cake and let it sit on the counter at room temp. The next day I frosted my cake with the ganache making sure to smooth the cake perfectly. I then placed my cake in the fridge to help the ganache set up quicker. Last I covered with fondant. It was so easy to smooth. Give it a try I think you will like the result.

noahsmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noahsmummy Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 9:05am