Newbie Here.. Silly Question

Decorating By sechrestloans Updated 14 Jun 2010 , 4:25pm by aprilblack

sechrestloans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sechrestloans Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 3:25am
post #1 of 15

I am new to all of this and I have a 50th anniversary cake due. I can never get my teirs to stand straight. My 12 in layers slant to the side and I trim them. Does anyone have tips on how to get them straight easily? I take the cakeboard and trim off that but they still are crooked!!! Thank you all! icon_surprised.gif)

14 replies
Kandy4283 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kandy4283 Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 3:46am
post #2 of 15

Maybe I am confused......

Do you use a lever to level your cakes after they are cooled? I always use a leveler and place the raw side down on a cake board and its always even...what kind of leveler are you using, if any?? Do you have both sides of the leveler even?? Are they not leveling out before or after your frosting is on? Could it be your frosting not level? There are so many reasons why it could not be leveling out....

I know that doesn't help much but I am not too sure!!?? Sorry!

sechrestloans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sechrestloans Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 4:00am
post #3 of 15

I can get the cakes level on the top it is the sides that are uneven? I know it is weird, but it is almost like they bulge out and I try to get them straight. It is almost like I am putting an 11 inch cake on top of a 12 in, but i bakes both 12 inches. Am I confusing it even more? LOL

Kandy4283 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kandy4283 Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 2:14pm
post #4 of 15

hmmm....well, I am not so sure!? Could it be your cake pans that you are using? Are they wilton or a good quality pan? LOL...I am so sorry I don't have an answer for you....

Could it be the type of non-stick spray you are using and its shrinking parts of the cake?