Clean Cake Boards

Decorating By sberryp Updated 4 Jun 2010 , 4:56pm by -Tubbs

sberryp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sberryp Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 5:19pm
post #1 of 20

Sorry if this seems like a stupid quesdtion, but I am new to baking. How do you keep your cake board from getting dirty while icing the cake? I tried putting the cake on a new board, is this all I need to do or is there an easier way to do this? I just thought that you only use on cake board per cake, but here lately I have been using 2. Thanks in advance for your help.

19 replies
BakedAlaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakedAlaska Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 5:36pm
post #2 of 20

If I'm using a board that extends beyond the bottom of the cake (as in, it's not a stacked tier), I generally just wipe off the icing that gets on there before it has time to set.

Those base cake boards are always covered with some sort of foil or something which wipes off easily for a clean finish.

sweetcheekscakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcheekscakery Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 5:39pm
post #3 of 20

Are you covering you cake board with anything? You can buy board cover (comes in a long roll like aluminum foil) in various colors. You can get icing all over the board if you want and it wipes right off. I buy it at Hobby Lobby and Michaels. Some Wal-Marts have it too.

Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 5:43pm
post #4 of 20

I cover all my boards in freezer paper (shiny side up), any icing wipes right off without leaving any residue.

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 5:45pm
post #5 of 20

Just wipe off the icing as soon as it hits the board....be careful of the foil covers, as they tear easy, gently gently scoop off and just wipe with a clean cloth. I don't use a damp cloth because it can cause the paper dollie to wrinkle....