Help, Please! How Can I Possibly Do This?

Decorating By JGMB Updated 18 Jun 2010 , 2:11pm by Hollandy

JGMB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JGMB Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 10:23pm
post #1 of 26

I offered to do the 8th-grade graduation cake for a little church friend. I planned to just make an easy, funky cake. Well, this morning, her mother e-mailed me the photo below, saying that Molly saw this and would love her cake to look like it! What does she think I am, the Ace of Cakes???????

I'm not a pro, just a hobby baker, and I've never done a carved cake -- plus, I only work with BC, not fondant.

Any suggestions on how I can do a cake that will even hint at this theme?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!!!
LL

25 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 10:28pm
post #2 of 26

sheet cake w/ a big ol' fbct of that dog??

Don't you just love people that have no clue how hard stuff is?

What about doing a 2-d carved sheet cake of the dog? like the dog on its side and flat.......would still look like the theme.

(I'm thinking if you pulled off that gorgeous purse cake, you could certainly pull off this dog................might be time to pull out the fondant and give it a go! You never know, you may just find it easier to work with)

awestervelt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awestervelt Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 10:28pm
post #3 of 26

I would make your regular cake then make a pink dog out of fondant to put on top of the cake. icon_biggrin.gif

ArtsyLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ArtsyLady Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 10:32pm
post #4 of 26

You could do a simple cut out cake in the shape of the dog, rather than doing a full on 3d carved cake. Or you could even draw the dog on a sheet cake. There are several ways you could incorporate this theme without having to go over the top. I know how you feel, though. People always seem to expect miracles, don't they? Good luck and be sure to post pics!