Uploading A Copied Cake

Decorating By alman Updated 2 Jun 2010 , 5:39pm by TexasSugar

alman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alman Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 7

I want to upload a cake (which has been a while). However, I copied a cake from someone I found on a website. I am still going to mention who I copied it from (she's not famous nor does she sell cakes), but I am unsure as to CS standard agreement. Please help me out on this if you can. Thanks.

6 replies
katnmouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katnmouse Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 4:01pm
post #2 of 7

I no legal expert, but there are plenty of folks who post pics of..."this is the pic of the cake the client wants (someone else's design) and here's a pic of my version" etc. It seems to me that as long as you don't claim to have originated the design and tell that it is your take on a cake designed by so-and-so...you should be okay.

But like I said...I'm no legal expert icon_rolleyes.gif

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 4:16pm
post #3 of 7

As long as it is a picture of your cake, then you can upload it. It is nice to give credit to the original designer if you know who they are.

alman Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 5:10pm
post #4 of 7

Thanks ya'll...I was concerned because I never had to verify what I was uploading before.

luddroth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luddroth Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 5:19pm
post #5 of 7

Do you mean uploading on to Cake Central or onto a business website? On CC, people post their versions of popular designs all the time -- I mean ALL THE TIME. If it's your business website, showing your work, you might want to think about it. I doubt that there is any legal problem, but you might prefer to advertise with your own original designs.

alman Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 5:37pm
post #6 of 7

Nope, just uploading to CC...I'm such a ditz and misinterpreted the part that asks "is this a duplicate cake." Duh, I have been in a fog today...lol.